The World Poker Tour (WPT)

wptThe World Poker Tour (WPT) is comprised of several Texas hold’em poker tournaments in the United States and abroad where, following a final event, a yearly champion is named. As of 2008, similar to the World Series of Poker (WSOP), the winner began receiving a bracelet as part of the poker championship prize. The WPT begin airing on TV in 2003 and has enjoyed a meteoric success since. The first poker championship was held at the Bellagio in Las Vegas and was won by Alan Goehring, who took home just over 1 million dollars in the championship.

Because the tour is an ongoing event, in addition to monetary prizes at each individual poker event, there is a point system. At the end of the year points are tallied and a player of the year is named.

Hold’em round the world

One of the nice aspects of the WPT is that each event is played at a different venue all over the world. This helps to attract both international poker players as well as viewers. Many of the players hail from international online casinos via satellite tournaments. Locations of prior events include the Aviation Club de France, Radisson Aruba Resort & Casino, Fallsview Casino Resort in Canada, along with several casinos in Las Vegas.

Poker for the Ladies

In 2008 the World Poker Tour began hosting a poker tournament called World Poker Tour Ladies Night. Although women are able to play in the general WPT, this special tournament is for ladies only!

How do I get in?

Similar to other poker tournaments, entry to the WPT requires a buy in fee that ranges in price. Additionally players can enter through satellite play both at online poker rooms or at local tournaments.

Champions of the WPT

Many of the WPT players are the best in the world. At the very top sits Daniel Negreanu, winner of two WPT championship titles and the poker player of the year in 2004. Playing alongside “Kid Poker” are other top class poker players like Phil Ivey, Carlos Mortensen, Michael Mizrahi and many other WSOP, WPT and international poker champions. Because the WPT is made up of several different events, these players often battle each other many times a year for both the individual crown as well as being named the WPT player of the year.